Author Topic: Prius tire recommendations  (Read 6905 times)

Anders

Prius tire recommendations
« on: September 03, 2012, 11:35:38 AM »
I used to like listening to that show: Car Talk.

Anyone know where I can get a good deal on the right tires for my 2001 Prius ?

SunnyDaze

Re: Prius tire recommendations
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2012, 11:47:47 AM »
Anders,

Shop around and let me know what you find. There's a locally owned tire business near my parents called Bubnash Tire that is generally lower than anywhere in price, including mass-volume internet sellers like Tire Rack. They don't charge for installation, valve stems, etc. The price you are given is the price you pay, sans tax of course. Even when I was a manager at Pep Boys, I bought my tires from Bubnash. I've recommended the place to several friends, most of whom ended up buying their tires there because the prices are usually unbeatable when you factor installation and shop fees from other places.

I'm actually getting Kuhmo 4X's installed on my WRX there tomorrow. If you tell me what size tires are on your Prius, I'll get you a price while I'm there. It'd be a small hike for you (about an hour each way), but, the price may make it worthwhile.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2012, 11:52:04 AM by SunnyDaze »

OldiesButGoodies

« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2012, 12:36:10 PM »
The Tire Rack is what I always use.  You can have them delivered to your doorstep like you see in the pic below of my Eagles,  or they send it directly to a tire installer near your house for install (I did that for the chipmunk-food  Honda Civic).  You can get a set of 4 Yokohama Avid Toruing S  all season for $272 plus delivery. That tire is rated 7.76 overall in the TR surveys so apparently it has made many Prius owners happy.

Link here:  http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Yokohama&tireModel=AVID+TOURING-S&partnum=765SR4TOURS&vehicleSearch=true&fromCompare1=yes&autoMake=Toyota&autoYear=2001&autoModel=Prius&autoModClar=