Author Topic: Rockin' in Beaver County  (Read 5238 times)

Offline NatiKid

• FNG !!!
Rockin' in Beaver County
« on: April 14, 2011, 10:57:24 PM »
Hi Everyone,

Just wanted to introduce myself.  I'm from Cincinnati originally, but live in Beaver County now.  I have been an audio tweaker since I was 3 years old and my older brother taught me how to start a record on his turntable.  When I first moved to Pittsburgh 3 years ago, I felt like I was in audio purgatory.  I had never lived anywhere with such a dead high end audio scene.  Vintage Hifi and the audio geek fest has been a breath of fresh air for me and has renewed my excitement for high end audio gear. 

I’m an electrical engineer by training and have designed some DIY audio gear over the years.  It’s my audio philosophy to try and understand and explain better sound quality with the established properties of Physics, so I don’t prescribe to some of the kookier system tweaks out there.  With that said, I also acknowledge that sometimes stuff just sounds better and we don’t really understand why.  I guess that’s part of what make the hobby fun for me.

I have various rigs in the house, but my primary listing rig is:

BandO RX-2 Turntable (in search of a new cart)
Marantz CD63SE with tweaks (upgraded caps and ultra low jitter clock upgrade)
Oppo 980H Universal Disc Player
Carver C-5 Dual Zone Preamp
Sunfire 300x2 Power Amp
Legacy Audio Classic Signature III Speakers

and zone 2:
Texas Instruments CC8520 Wireless Audio Interface
Luxman M-1000 Power Amp
Boston Acoustics A-100 Speakers

I look forward to talking gear and music with you all.  Don’t hate me because I’m a Bengals fan (it’s tough enough as it is).

Thanks,
Andy

Go Bengals!!!!!   :P

bmwr75

Re: Rockin' in Beaver County
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2011, 06:14:49 AM »
Welcome Andy.

Define "kookier system tweaks".  I'm sure you'll get a reaction from at least one of the nuts on this forum.   ;D

Offline Kingman

• Southern Commander