General Banter > Car Talk

Prius tire recommendations

(1/4) > >>

Anders:
I used to like listening to that show: Car Talk.

Anyone know where I can get a good deal on the right tires for my 2001 Prius ?

SunnyDaze:
Anders,

Shop around and let me know what you find. There's a locally owned tire business near my parents called Bubnash Tire that is generally lower than anywhere in price, including mass-volume internet sellers like Tire Rack. They don't charge for installation, valve stems, etc. The price you are given is the price you pay, sans tax of course. Even when I was a manager at Pep Boys, I bought my tires from Bubnash. I've recommended the place to several friends, most of whom ended up buying their tires there because the prices are usually unbeatable when you factor installation and shop fees from other places.

I'm actually getting Kuhmo 4X's installed on my WRX there tomorrow. If you tell me what size tires are on your Prius, I'll get you a price while I'm there. It'd be a small hike for you (about an hour each way), but, the price may make it worthwhile.

OldiesButGoodies:
The Tire Rack is what I always use.  You can have them delivered to your doorstep like you see in the pic below of my Eagles,  or they send it directly to a tire installer near your house for install (I did that for the chipmunk-food  Honda Civic).  You can get a set of 4 Yokohama Avid Toruing S  all season for $272 plus delivery. That tire is rated 7.76 overall in the TR surveys so apparently it has made many Prius owners happy.

Link here:  http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tires.jsp?tireMake=Yokohama&tireModel=AVID+TOURING-S&partnum=765SR4TOURS&vehicleSearch=true&fromCompare1=yes&autoMake=Toyota&autoYear=2001&autoModel=Prius&autoModClar=

B0030273 by JSifontes, on Flickr

Anders:
 Original Tire:  Bridgestone Potenza RE92

Classic Prius comes with these tires standard.  They are sometimes referred to as OEM (Original Equipment Manufacturer) tires.

175 / 65 R14