Author Topic: Mullard 12AX7 ordering question  (Read 3333 times)

Offline Jim Pittsburgh

• Audio Connoisseur
Mullard 12AX7 ordering question
« on: October 29, 2013, 11:06:24 AM »
Looking at the Russian made Mullard 12AX7 tubes on the Tube Depot web site, they offer options of: "matched and balanced" , " low noise and microphonics" and " high gain".
In my Jolida phono preamp, I do not beleive that gain will be a problem and the Mullards have relatively high gain anyway per the articles I've read... but I am wondering if I should spring the the surcharges for both the " balanced and matched and the low noise?

Forgive my ignorance, I'm still a tube novice...

thanks for sharing your thoughts and expertise.

Jim
a bunch of nice sounding stuff. Nice that I'm finally able to actually listen to file music for the first time...

bmwr75

Re: Mullard 12AX7 ordering question
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2013, 12:00:43 PM »
Low noise and balanced are probably the biggest issue for a phono preamp, especially if it uses only one tube, which I think most do.

Offline Reverend

• Ready For Intervention!
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2013, 12:43:08 PM »
Definitely matched and I'd suggest looking elsewhere.  I bought a matched set of NOS gold pinned, cryo treated, mullard 12ax7's for less than what Tube Depot wants for one tube.  I don't remember which company I used, i'd have to do some research.

Didn't catch you said "Russian" made.  Nevermind, I thought you meant NOS UK's.  You still want matched though.

« Last Edit: October 29, 2013, 12:51:20 PM by Reverend »

Offline Jim Pittsburgh

• Audio Connoisseur
« Reply #3 on: October 29, 2013, 12:58:33 PM »
NOS would be great, but aren't they a quite a bit more $$$$. If you find that location please pass it along...
 My Joida uses two tubes.. one for each channel....
Also, what about "noise" in the buying equation?
a bunch of nice sounding stuff. Nice that I'm finally able to actually listen to file music for the first time...