Author Topic: Measuring amp output levels  (Read 2941 times)

Offline GraphicFX

• Double Secret Probation!
Measuring amp output levels
« on: January 23, 2014, 12:26:40 AM »
I have an embarrassing question
How do I measure the wattage output levels of my amps

With 530 watts bridge mono for each main, I'm a bit concerned if I'm over-driving my 150 watt rated speakers

With no other indicators other then Led's for output and clipping, I am at a loss as to what kind of power my speakers are receiving.

I've enclosed a pic of something called "output monitor".  It's a 1/4" jack in the right front of each amp. Is there something I can plug in to it that will tell me in real time just what is being put out.

I've even enclosed a picture
Thanx in advance...
Main system
Pre-amp: Adcom GTP-350
Main Amplification: Crown PS-400
Surround Amplification: Crown PS-400
Mains: Polk SDA-2B Studio
Rear fill: Polk RTA-12
Subs: (3) Velodyne F1200b

SunnyDaze

Re: Measuring amp output levels
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2014, 12:50:55 AM »
You most likely aren't. Just because an amplifier is rated at 530W does not mean it's putting out that amount of power.

When your preamp volume pot is set at zero, your amplifier produces 0 watts. As you increase the volume pot on the preamp, the amount of power produced by the amplifier will increase proportionally until clipping.

You'd be VERY surprised how little power it takes to fill a room with sound. The VU meters on my 504 are hardly ever over 15 watts. At 50 watts things become disturbingly loud. I couldn't imagine a full 165 continuous watts. I wouldn't want to be in that room.

Offline MacGeek

• Ready For Intervention!
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2014, 06:27:17 AM »