Author Topic: working on a Yamaha AX-900  (Read 276 times)

Offline Dart67eb

  • FNG !!!
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
working on a Yamaha AX-900
« on: December 14, 2021, 02:35:44 PM »
I have a DMM and can use it.  I also have a capacitor checker.  Someone gave me an O scope and I bought some new leads and a signal generator.  I hope to work on it this Thursday.

Offline Dart67eb

  • FNG !!!
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: working on a Yamaha AX-900
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2021, 02:39:10 PM »
I might run a new thread on it in the repair section if it works out.

Offline vpgh

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 171
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: working on a Yamaha AX-900
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2021, 03:27:12 PM »
Done

Offline Dart67eb

  • FNG !!!
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: working on a Yamaha AX-900
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2021, 04:10:32 PM »
IThe subject of this thread is that I have a Yamaha AX-900 integrated amp that I bought from the PX when I was stationed in Korea.  I was collecting dust so I gave it to my son to take to college.  Someone spilled something on it when it was running.  I saw some bad caps and some burned resistors so I replaced them.  Now I'm down to one resistor smoke checking when I power it up.  Time for actual troubleshooting.  I'll let everyone know what I find.

Offline Sir Thrift-a-Lot

  • Ready For Intervention!
  • ******
  • Posts: 4132
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: working on a Yamaha AX-900
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2021, 09:22:31 PM »
I'm not a tech but welcome to the forum.

Offline Dart67eb

  • FNG !!!
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: working on a Yamaha AX-900
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2021, 05:04:04 PM »
Here is what I saw when I opened it up.  Right off the bat I saw some capacitors and burned resistors along with residue.