Author Topic: new toys for me to play with....  (Read 5440 times)

Offline typethisin

• Double Secret Probation!
  • Rock n' Roll ....and Bacon forever!!!!
new toys for me to play with....
« on: November 05, 2010, 05:29:43 PM »
I just got my hands on an Onkyo 5160 stereo power amp (150x2)and a carver C-2 preamp. I am using them with the HK cd player to fuel my jbl sw2 active sub with a pair of sony 6.5 bookshelf speakers to round out the sound. The power amp is so sweet. It has black facing with the rack handles, a red thin led strip in the middle like Kit from knight rider, and best of all it is beefy. The carver c-2 is sweet, bushed stainless face, plenty of knobs instead of buttons, and defeat options for tone control which is a plus. Over all i have so much headroom now that i barely have to turn up the volume to get powerfull sound. I think the preamp combined with this beast of a solid state power amp makes a great combination for me. After all i am just starting out. I am looking forward to possibly getting a better pair of bookshelf speakers to better fill the sound out. Suggestions are welcome since i am a young paduan in training.
-john- "I'm gonna rock out with my Bacon out!"

Offline Kingman

• Southern Commander
  • OCCD...I GOT IT BADD!!!!!!!!!
Re: new toys for me to play with....
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2010, 05:47:21 PM »
Sounds like you are well on your way...good luck in your journey!!!  8)
IN REALITY IT ONLY MATTERS WHAT IT SOUNDS LIKE TO YOU!!!!!

SunnyDaze

« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2010, 05:49:55 PM »
Did you pick up the 5160 from the guy in Mt. Pleasant? I wonder how that puppy sounds!

You should consider picking up the Paradigm Atoms that are on here for sale.

PS - Get some pictures of your system up!  :P

Offline Slim-Shaddy

• CARVER KILLER!!!
  • Tubes are for boobs
    • This is Bullshit
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2010, 05:54:53 PM »
These Regas are great sounding bookshelves http://www.needledoctor.com/Rega-RS1-Speakers