Author Topic: New headphones are on the way!  (Read 5738 times)

SunnyDaze

New headphones are on the way!
« on: June 26, 2010, 03:43:33 PM »
Someone a whole heck of a lot brighter than myself once said "To deny our own impulses is to deny the very thing that makes us human." At some point or another, we've all succumbed to our impulses and spent what seems like a significant sum (income pending, I'm a lifetime student!) on our first pair of "cans". For me, it was in 2005, when I bought myself a set of SR225's to run while my roommates were sleeping. We spend weeks reading, listening, and interacting. We spend hours positing which make and model is "right" for us, within out budget. And then, we pull the trigger. Next, we attempt to justify said purchase. We go foreward with our wallets lighter, our ears happier, our significant others left completely confused, and often times upset.

How is any of that remotely impulsive? The very notion to obtain cans strikes you like a bolt of lightning. 1.21 gigawatts, as the man said. Once the bug to get new cans bites you, forget about it. You're getting new cans.

Sometimes we get lucky. I found a minty set of SR60's on this forum for $35, with two extra sets of flats. I won a $30 Best Buy gift card from school. That funded my PortaPro's. Luckily, they're the "Black" editions. They have the same upgrades as the 25th anniversary PortaPro. Sometimes these little interludes can sufficiently play second wind to your "good" cans. In my case, the 225's. Other times, it just doesn't work that way. The upgrade bug bit me a few weeks ago.

Here's how that worked out for me.

Initially, I stepped forth with an open mind, and a budget of $300, give or take. I wanted, or so I thought I wanted, cans that would be as neutral as possible. Folks suggested K701/K702's. Luckily, a friend nearby had a set for me to indulge upon. Instantly I thought, "Aww, how nice. Where'd the edge go? No fun!"